Six months on ….

Well its six months since I left maternity leave and how I wish I could be back there, it is a time for most new mums to find their feet, understand themselves, their strengths and overcome any weaknesses with caring for their baby and partner.

Where your anxieties are in overdrive, with every new illness or symptom turning you and your partner into a quivering wreck, you have the GP number on speed dial and you know how to get to A & E in the dark.

Although work is work, and it was hard at first leaving George, I find it’s the best of both worlds for my sanity. My colleague friends at work treat me as Ruth the nurse and the new mum, the conversations change to daily life other than conversations about poo.

My days off with George are usually pre-arranged with other mums and babes or long-awaited catch up’s with old friends. Gone are the days of baby cinema, George will never sit still in my arms and I can’t even bribe him with boob milk.

It’s all about big noisy toys, walkers and ride-ons and anything George can find that makes a loud bang. The tantrums he has are interesting, can’t believe such a beautiful little boy can turn into a little angry man, literally throwing all his toys out of his cotbed and yelling, bottom lip out demanding I or Daddy come back and do as we are told.

Despite, the whirlwind of nursery, and juggling work with George, I have nearly completed my second year at uni and was considering my Masters this September. Unfortunately, the powers of be at work won’t allow it. And it might be pushing it, juggling two babies, my hubby and uni? !

 

Leave a Reply

