Feeling accomplished…

After a week of what I call hell, where I couldn’t breastfeed George, due to me being prescribed antibiotics which has limited evidence on the side effects for baby.

I had experienced sheer pain from engorgement and having to express every two hours which meant I was housebound. Then we had to start formula feeding, which is a procedure in itself, sterilising bottles and teats, having the correct teat. We thought a fast teat would be fine for George, however, the milk just ran down his face, so had to use a slow teat which is all what we had at hand.

We were in limbo, between the world of breastfeeding well, expressing and formula and George wasn’t feeding every 3 hours, he was between 4-6 hours. If anyone does formula feed, instruction says to boil kettle 30 mins before feed, well this is difficult when you’re not sure on feeding time. Had to wake my partner for night feeds as my boobs were too painful to hold George and feed him on the bottle.

I used cabbage leaves to reduce the swelling and pain from the engorgement, but maybe I went over the top with this as I slept with them in bra and thus milk supply reduced. Only being able to express 3oz in total from both boobs. I felt our close relationship was coming to an end, so weighing up the pros and cons and stopped the antibiotics after 5 days.

Leaving the house yesterday with just George and I was fantastic, having your independance back  and freedom from a breastpump and the house is the best. We spent the afternoon at a sensory class and mixing with other mums. I also managed to make a few meals for George before bedtime and a batch of scones for my other half and I to enjoy.

Today, I felt accomplished, I was dreading this but I managed this own my own, taking Georgie for his second term of swimming lessons. He loved kicking his feet and chasing ducks. I didn’t drop him, I was able to get in and out of the pool with George in one arm and holding the bannister with the other. Even the changing procedure was ok, baby talc is a lifesaver and  the support and kindness of the other mums who were all in the same boat.

A wriggling six and half month baby is slightly harder than a younger baby, I was advised not to use the lift down changing table as it sloped downwards which isn’t what you need.

Going to try fenugreek capsules which I hear you can make a tea, and this increases your milk production, as it will take awhile for it to go up. In the meantime, George is eating for England, it took several bowls of weetabix, yoghurt, puree last night to get him to bed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

